Land Use Planning & Zoning

Sustainable Franklin County – A Regional Plan for Sustainable Development for Franklin County


project pic


Project Overview

The FRCOG and its Project Partners representing Franklin County were selected as one of 45 consortiums nationwide, to receive a Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant.  Our project partners are Community Action, Franklin County Regional Housing and Redevelopment Authority (HRA), North Quabbin Community Coalition (NQCC), Franklin County Community Development Corporation (FCCDC), Greenfield, Montague, Orange, and Deerfield.  The Franklin Regional Council of Governments (FRCOG), in collaboration with our Consortium Members and Project Partners (the "Steering Committee") will conduct a comprehensive planning process to create a Regional Plan for Sustainable Development.  This multi-year project has the following goals which will identify short and long term policies and projects that will support sustainable development and redevelopment.

Current Activities

Work on this project has occurred in three stages: (1) Establishing a regional vision and goals for a “Sustainable Franklin County”; (2) Development of a Regional Plan for Sustainable Development (RPSD) and public art display; and (3) Implementation of the RPSD at the local planning level. The first and second stages have been completed and the third stage is underway.

Three Sustainable Franklin County workshops were held across the county in late September and early October of 2011 to gather public input about the RPSD. A total of 102 attendees participated in the hands-on planning exercises and expressed their vision of what they would like Franklin County to look like in 20 years. Results of the workshops have been incorporated into the RPSD.  Open Houses were recently held in March 2013 to obtain public feedback on the draft RPSD.  A total of 83 participants provided input on the draft plan at the Open Houses.  The Final Plan has been approved by HUD and the chapters can be found below:

Sustainable Franklin County Full Report

Sustainable Franklin County Chapters

Sustainable Franklin County Executive Summary

Future Plans

The Regional Plan for Sustainable Development has been recently completed.  The third phase of the Sustainable Franklin County project is focused on implementation and has begun. Four towns – Deerfield, Greenfield, Montague and Orange – are undertaking their own local projects to increase sustainability and show how the RPSD’s goals can be implemented at the municipal level. These projects will be completed by December 2013. If you have any questions, please contact Mary Praus, Land Use Planner, at (413) 774-3167 ext. 131 or

This page was last updated on November 7, 2013 .